Header
                                                                                                                 Header
Texas DPS Driver Responsibility Indigency / Incentive Program

General Overview - These programs provide drivers the ability to comply with surcharges owed under the Driver Responsibility Program and maintain driving privileges. Under the Indigency Program, the surcharges are waived. However, under the Incentive Program, the surcharges are not waived but are reduced. The objective is to ensure drivers can become licensed, obtain financial liability insurance, and continue to keep our roads safe. Any surcharge assessed on or after September 1, 2003 are eligible for the Indigency/Incentive Programs.

The Indigency Program applies to individuals who are living at or below 125% of the federal poverty level, defined annually by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. For approved applicants, surcharges will be waived with accounts totaling a zero balance.

The Incentive Program applies to individuals who are living above 125% but are below 300% federal poverty level, defined annually by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. For approved applicants, the surcharge fees will be reduced by 50% of the total amount assessed (service fees apply).

Once approved for a reduction under the Incentive program, the individual must pay the reduced balance in full within six (6) months . All surcharge suspensions will be lifted during this period. If the individual does not pay the balance in full by the due date, their driving privileges will be suspended until the reduced balance is paid in full .

These programs will not remove other suspensions on the driving record. To check the status of your driving record, please visit www.texas.gov/driver, then select Driver License Reinstatement and Status.

To Apply – Complete the application in black or blue ink only. The application must be completed in full prior to submission. Use notes section on page 2 for additional information. To download the application, CLICK HERE.

You may also apply online at txsurchargeonline. PLEASE NOTE: Until your application review is completed, you must continue to remit the minimum monthly payment by the due date to avoid suspension of your driving privileges.

If you are an inmate and need to complete an unsworn declaration, please download HERE.

Supporting Documents - Applicants must include supporting documentation based on answers provided on the application. If submitting an online application, you may upload all documents, including your application. All documents must be complete and accurate. Your application and any supporting documents you provide may be forwarded to the Texas Department of Public Safety for additional review. If your application is found to be fraudulent, it can result in criminal penalties.

Approved - A written notice will be sent to the applicant and will provide the due date and the reduced balance owed.

Denied - A written notice will be sent to the applicant with the reason for the denial.

Status - If you applied online, you can check the status of your application online. Online notices will be available 10 -14 business days after your completed application is submitted. If you applied by mail, written notices take up to 60 days after your completed application is submitted.

Payment - The reduced payment must be received by the due date or driving privileges will be suspended. Available payment methods include: ACE Cash Express, MoneyGram, Western Union, Check, Money Order, or Credit or Debit Card. You can also contact us directly at 1-800-688-6882 or visit www.txsurchargeonline.com.

New Surcharges - If additional surcharges are assessed within 90 calendar days of reduction approval, those surcharges will be automatically reduced and a letter sent with the new balance due. The original due date remains the same. If new surcharges are assessed 91 days or more after the reduction approval, a new application will be required.

All notices will be sent to the address associated with the surcharge account(s).

Example of Poverty level as per the Health and Human Services Department:

IndigencyIncentive
125% of the 2016 HHS Poverty Guidelines
Persons in
Family
125%125%125%
48 Contiguous StatesAlaskaHawaii
1$14,850.00$18,550.00$17,087.50
2$20,025.00$25,025.00$23,037.50
3$25,200.00$31,500.00$28,987.50
4$30,375.00$37,975.00$34,937.50
5$35,550.00$44,450.00$40,887.50
6$40,725.00$50,925.00$46,837.50
7$45,912.50$57,400.00$52,787.50
8$51,112.50$63,900.00$58,762.50
For each additional $5,200.00 $6,500.00 $5,975.00
300% of the 2016 HHS Poverty Guidelines
Persons in
Family
300%300%300%
48 Contiguous StatesAlaskaHawaii
1$35,640.00$44,520.00$41,010.00
2$48,060.00$60,060.00$55,290.00
3$60,480.00$75,600.00$69,570.00
4$72,900.00$91,140.00$83,850.00
5$85,320.00$106,680.00$98,130.00
6$97,740.00$122,220.00$112,410.00
7$110,190.00$137,760.00$126,690.00
8$122,670.00$153,360.00$141,030.00
For each additional $12,480.00 $15,600.00 $14,340.00
SOURCE: Federal Register, January 25, 2016     www.federalregister.gov